The Big Announcement: Grey Matter Press to Publish My Next Book: The End in All Beginnings!


This is the BIG ANNOUNCEMENT that’s been four or five months in the making.  My new collection of five novellas, The End in All Beginnings, has been picked up by Grey Matter Press and will be published later this year.  Here’s Grey Matter’s release that went out today:


THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS, the All-New Collection from Taff

To be Edited by R.J. Cavender and Published by Grey Matter Press in Summer 2014

CHICAGO, March 4, 2014 – The Chicago-based independent publisher known for its volumes of exceptional fiction, Grey Matter Press, and dark fiction author John F.D. Taff have inked a deal that will see the publication of a new, cross-genre collection consisting of five dark sci-fi/horror novellas written by Taff. The all-new, single-author collection is expected to be released in the summer of 2014.

Titled THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS, the volume includes five never-before-released novellas written by Taff that explore the concepts of life and death through both time and space. The collection will be edited by the Bram Stoker Award-nominated R.J. Cavender and published by the Bram Stoker Award-nominated editorial team at Grey Matter Press . The collection comes on the heels of recent Taff releases that include the critically-acclaimed novels Kill/Off and The Bell Witch along with his premiere collection of short stories, Little Deaths, which was named “The #1 Horror Collection of 2012” by HorrorTalk.

“Bringing this collection to life and publishing it with Grey Matter Press makes this a dream project,” said Taff. “I am thrilled to be able to grow my relationship with this up-and-coming dark fiction publisher because they’ve already become a company I greatly respect.”

THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS will be Taff’s second single-author collection of short-format dark fiction, and will be yet another example of how the author masterfully weaves elements of science fiction, horror and suspense into his acclaimed fiction. The volume will be the first foray into single-author work for Grey Matter Press who has until now published only multiple-author anthologies.

“It was always our intention to add collections and novels to our catalog, and I can’t express how excited we are to have John F.D. Taff’s THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS become our first single-author collection,” said Anthony Rivera, publisher and editor at Grey Matter Press. “This marks a monumental start to an all-new chapter in our history, and there is no better partner than John F.D. Taff to have in this venture. We very much look forward to bringing this all-new, all-thrilling Taff collection to his numerous fans.”

THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS is a collection of five novellas written by Taff during the last two decades. The pieces take a dark, emotional and oftentimes introspective look at life and death through the ages. Included in the volume are “What Becomes God,” a story about two boys coming to terms with the true horrors of life; “Object Permanence,” an investigation of the ages-old human desire to not be forgotten; “Love in the Time of Zombies,” an engrossing tale of heartbreak in a world gone haywire; “The Long, Long Breakdown,” the story of an overprotective father raising his motherless daughter in a dangerous post-apocalyptic city; and “Visitation,” a dark and emotional look at the enduring pain of love and the afterlife.

“These pieces represent a wide slice of my writing career,” said Taff. “From stories that I wrote more than 20 years ago and recently hauled out to revise, to pieces that literally were finished just as I sent the manuscript to R.J. Cavender to begin the editing process.”

Grey Matter Press looks forward to adding THE END IN ALL BEGINNINGS to its already well-received and critically acclaimed catalog. Since 2013, the publisher has released several volumes of dark fiction all of which feature the work of some of the most well-respected authors writing in the horror, science fiction, fantasy and speculative fiction genres today. Included in that roster is Taff himself, who contributed two short works of fiction to the company’s expanding line of anthologies.

Taff’s short story “Show Me” appears in the company’s Bram Stoker Award-nominated anthology DARK VISIONS: A COLLECTION OF MODERN HORROR – Volume One, and his story “Angie” was published in OMINOUS REALITIES: THE ANTHOLOGY OF SPECULATIVE HORRORS. Other anthologies from Grey Matter Press include SPLATTERLANDS: REAWAKENING THE SPLATTERPUNK REVOLUTION, DARK VISIONS: A COLLECTION OF MODERN HORROR – Volume Two, and the upcoming EQUILIBRIUM OVERTURNED: STARING INTO THE HEART OF DARKNESS which will be released in April.

* * *

About John F.D. Taff
John F.D. Taff has published more than 70 short stories in markets that include Cemetery Dance, Deathrealm, Big Pulp, Postscripts to Darkness, Hot Blood: Fear the Fever, Hot Blood: Seeds of Fear and Shock Rock II. Over the years, six of his shorts have been named honorable mentions in the Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror. His first collection of short stories, Little Deaths, was published in 2012 and has been well-reviewed by critics and readers alike. The collection made it to the Bram Stoker Reading List, has been the No. 1 Bestseller at Amazon in the Horror/Short Stories category and was named the No. 1 Horror Collection of 2012 by HorrorTalk. Taff’s The Bell Witch is an historical novel inspired by the events of a real-life haunting and was released in August 2013. His thriller Kill/Off was published in December 2013. More information about John F.D. Taff is available at

About Grey Matter Press
Grey Matter Press is a Chicago-based publisher whose mission it is to curate and cultivate the most talented voices working in dark fiction. The company is committed to producing only the finest quality products containing exceptional tales of horror, fantasy, science fiction and speculative fiction. More information about Grey Matter Press is available at

So, that’s it!  The big announcement! I am immensely proud of the five stories in this collection.   And I am thrilled to be doing this with Grey Matter, a publisher I’ve come to greatly respect.  I can’t wait for this project to come out.  I can’t wait for readers to read these pieces.

Now, it’s just waiting for the book to be published.  I know Grey Matter has some other surprises for this book up its sleeve, and we’ll announce those as they fall into place.  Keep looking here and at Grey Matter  for more information on The End in All Beginnings and other great Grey Matter books!


About John F.D. Taff

John F.D. Taff is a writer, published author, raconteur and wrangler of angry stoats. He has more than 80 short stories and 7 novels published. He lives in the great, unspoiled vastness of the Midwest. He has a tremendous wife named Debbie, three pugs, Sadie, Tovah and Muriel, and three great kids--Harry, Sam and Molly. View all posts by John F.D. Taff

4 responses to “The Big Announcement: Grey Matter Press to Publish My Next Book: The End in All Beginnings!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: